Thread: Heart Murmers

Blog Entries

Default Heart Murmers

I took Max to the vets this morning for his booster and she detected a slight heart murmur. She says it is very slight at the moment (possibly a grade one)and does not need any treatment but he is still quite young; he's just 4. She told me to keep an eye on him and I notice anything different to go back but otherwise she would see him next year. I'm new to keeping cavaliers so other than a cough I'm not sure what I'm supposed to be looking for and if I should take him back for check ups more regularly. Can anyone advise
    Sheila H [EMAIL="halls.1@hotmail.co.uk"]

Well, I'm unsure as to what others might say, but as a beginning I would cease having yearly boosters. If you're concerned about Max's possible lack of immunity, ask your vet to titre test him (blood is taken and the levels of immunity checked). Make sure you keep his teeth clean (any kind of infection in the gums can place stress on the system). With a very slight murmur you're unlikely to see any change in his behaviour at all, but if he starts to breathe rapidly or irregularly or struggle for breath take him to the vet as soon as possible. If his exercise tolerance drops and he sleeps a lot (sometimes difficult to tell with Cavaliers!) your vet will probably advise meds. Also - keep him on the lean side, weight wise. If he's currently a bit heavier than he should be, it may be that losing the weight will quote cure unquote him. Vitamin E, although thought now not to be helpful, does have a side effect of thinning the blood slightly, so easing any burden on the heart.