Thread: Help!!

Default Help!!

Hi all, I am new to this and I have a question. My tricolour female lily mated with my male Blenheim Henry but we have no Blenheim puppies can this happen?

Most defiantly. You will get a colour gene from mum and from dad. Dad can only have two Blenheim genes or he would not be Blenheim. Mum can either have two tri genes or a tri and a Blenheim gene. As tri is dominant over Blenheim she will be tricolour either way. So the puppies get one gene from each parent so we can say for definite that the puppies have one Blenheim gene from dad. The other gene must be tricolour from mum. This may mean that mum has two tri genes so any puppies ahe has have to be tri or if she does have a Blenheim gene none of the puppies got it. I think the former is more lightly. I didn't think this would be that difficult to explained.

Hi Gayhalo, thank you for your response I think I have understood. I was getting worried as I have a jackrussel x spaniel and I thought maybe he must have mated with her too and I have missed it. My Blenheim definitely tied with her as they were stuck together with lilyjoan screaming. I have been told if they scream out it means that this is the first time they have mated. Is this true? I really need to know what I will be selling.

Oh my goodness
    Greetings from Joanna & Maxi, Zoe & Arabella (Kissabella)

Smile Hello

Welcome to our forum - hope you will find it helpful being here, and that we can help you to learn about what happens when we contemplate breeding with our Cavaliers, and what we need to know before the mating happens.

It's a long hard road of learning, and one way is to read some decent books, and really study them.

See also www.thecavalierclub.co.uk
    Jenny at Erinport
    Where Excellence Without Exaggeration Counts

Hi Lilyjoan